Running with Rage

Eric Rutin discusses running, life and other semi-important things

It is Turkey Day

November 24, 2011

Thanksgiving finally arrived , signally that 2011 is officially winding down.  Carolyn and I started our Thanksgiving as we usually do with the annual 10 mile Turkey Trot.  We were watching the weather report on the morning news and the forecast predicted a traditional Thanksgiving temperature of 80 degrees.  So we dressed accordingly.  We arrived at the race to a chilly 51.  I guess after the 29 last week in Pittsburgh I really don’t have room to complain. 

The race this year seemed much bigger than in past years.  We lined up together, and as usual by the 1/4 mile mark Carolyn left me in the dust.  The race is one of my favorites.  I am not sure if it is the course, which is actually a pretty boring out and back or if it is the notion I get to eat whatever I want guilt free knowing I already ran 10 miles.  You burn 3000 calories on a 10 miler don’t you?  I hit the 5 mile mark feeling strong and that I was having a good race so I decided to click on the watch to see what my split was.  I ran from mile 5-6 in a solid 8:59, then 6-7 in just under a 10 minute pace.  WTF?  I thought I was running well. I was passing way more people than were passing me, so what was with me being a tortoise on the watch?  I know I am not posting the times I was in a couple of years ago, but I didn’t think I was this slow.  I forgot about it and  settled into a hard pace with two girls; the three of us running stride for stride passing groups of people.  I would like to think I was pushing them to stay up as hard as they were pushing me.

We turned down the final stretch which looped the baseball field at Peoria Sports Complex.  We all turned our kick on.  Unfortunately I quickly discovered that Carolyn isn’t the only girl faster than me.  I ran the final half mile with all I had left in what felt like an all out sprint to finish at 1:22:43.  I was too tired to do math, but I was coherent enough to know I wasn’t running 10 minute miles.  It wasn’t my best time, but I was happy.  Carolyn met me after the finish and made a joke about how far off the mile markers were (I guess that is why she wears a Garmin).  That made me feel better about my splits and just reinforced why I try not to look at my times in a race.  She finished at 1:16:13, another solid race as she gets ready for PF Chang’s Rock and Roll Marathon in January.

We got home, took showers and got in our comfy clothes.  I started watching the Lions and she started cooking.  Thanksgiving is the one day of the year that I don’t do the cooking. Not complaining as I like doing the cooking, but this is Carolyn’s big day in the kitchen.  The bird is now officially in the oven.  Half of Detroit is injured, Suh has been tossed and the Lions are down 21-0.  Stafford has 8 interceptions in the past three games. Ugh.  Hmm, as I just typed this, he just threw his 3rd interception.  I guess at this point all I have to look forward to is Carolyn’s delicious candied yams.

Two great commercials during the first half. First was for Shark Attack Experiment on National Geo Channel. SCARY! The second was the NFL Play 60 spot that finally featured the Lions.  And did you see who was driving the bus?

Happy Thanksgiving everyone.

Maybe next year the Lions will finally win a Thanksgiving Day game.  Spoken like a true lifelong Lions fan.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

