Running with Rage

Eric Rutin discusses running, life and other semi-important things

Today’s Run

December12, 2011

Ok, I must be getting old. The writing on the wall is becoming too obvious.

I just can’t stop commenting on the weather. I am complaining it is too hot, too cold, too windy, too something. Well today I blew off my run this morning because it was raining. As I sat in my office all day looking out my 9th story window it just wasn’t looking any better. Regardless when I got home despite all my excuses Carolyn convinced me I needed to run. So long sleeve shirt and shorts on and out the door we went.

Carolyn opted to run 5 miles instead of her planned 7 to run with me. But on one condition – we couldn’t run slowly. Now she was nice and was’t going to make me run her normal pace, but I wasn’t going to be able to run my usual snail pace either. The weather cooperated (see there I go again talking about the weather again) and by the time we clocked mike one we were in our stride. For me a strong tempo run and for Carolyn a nice low effort jog.

We did the final three miles under an eight minute pace, I was busting my butt trying to keep up with Carolyn and she was politely holding back to stick with me. We finished and I posted my fastest five mile training run this fall. Take that weather!

Now when the alarm clock goes off tomorrow morning am I going to have the same defiant attitude to Mother Nature or am I going to rationalize and hit snooze?

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Today’s Run

  1. Naomi Ogaldez on said:

    I love running, but Running with bad weather makes me not want to run like you. I just have learned to run and enjoy the unexpected weather mother nature brings me.

Leave a Reply

