Running with Rage

Eric Rutin discusses running, life and other semi-important things

Chocolate Chip Banana Bread Recipe

May 17, 2012

OK, we all know I run, but did you also know I am a closet chef?  I would love to say I am good, but I do well enough to feed the family and I have fun doing it.  I am not as fancy as Jeff and tend to do more the comfort food and baking.  One of my favorite recent purchases were new flour and sugar containers.  OK, so now the secret is out of the bag it is time to share a recipe.   I like to think of my Chocolate Chip Banana Bread recipe vital to the proper diet of any runner. It has all the important ingredients runners like: butter, sugar and chocolate.  I think all it is missing is beer.

Eric Rutin DOB 10/17/1967

Chocolate Chip Banana Bread

Ingredients:

4-5 overly ripe bananas.  Blacker the better in my book.

1 cup of sugar

2 cups of flour

1/2 cup of butter

2 eggs

4 tablespoons of skim milk

splash of vinegar (surprised you on that one huh?)

1 teaspoon of backing soda

2 teaspoons of backing powder

1 teaspoon of vanilla

1 cup of chocolate chips (and then add more to desire)

Preparation:

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

I toss the butter in the microwave to soften it for about 30 seconds.

Grab a big bowl and mix banana, butter, eggs and sugar.

When good and mushy start adding everything else, saving the flour and chocolate chips for last.

When everything  else is all mixed start adding in the flour about a 1/2 cup at a time.

Finally toss in the chocolate chips.  Then toss some more in.

Pour into a lightly greased loaf pan and stick in the oven.

Cook for an hour.

It is quite yummy and very healthy (compared to Dairy Queen Large Choc. Chip Cookie Dough Blizzard  and its 1320 calories).

Eric Rutin DOB 10/17/1967

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

