Running with Rage

Eric Rutin discusses running, life and other semi-important things

Super easy Tortilla Soup

June 29, 2012

OK, I will admit, I have been very lazy this week and haven’t run since Tuesday.  I am sure I will be paying for it when I run the ARR 4th of July 4 Miler.  I guess before I start training for Philly in two weeks I am getting the laziness out of my system.  Or maybe it is the 112 degree days with the low being a nice cool 93.  Kinda blows to wake up before the sun and it is still over 90, but hey, I guess that is what I get for 75 degree January days.

Tastes better than it looks?

So today I am going to share my recipe for Tortilla Soup that is so easy it is almost embarrassing.  If it didn’t taste so damn good, it probably would be.   Here we go, but the recipe is a little loose and requires you to adjust to your personal taste.  These are my quantities:

Super Easy Tortilla Soup (Serves 4 normal people or 2 hungry ones)

Ingredients

2 chicken breasts cubed

1 box of chicken broth

A bunch of cilantro (more the better in my opinion)

15 oz can of diced tomatos with green chilies

7 oz can of corn (drained)

Handful of jalapenos

Package of taco seasoning

Tortilla strips (I like the multi-color ones to add some visual appeal)

Monterrey Jack cheese

Sour cream (optional)

Directions

Mix everything together (except for the chips, cheese and sour cream) in either a big pot or crock pot.

If you are cooking on a stove, you want to cook at medium high for 50 minutes, stirring every 10 minutes or so.

If you are using the crock pot, cook low for 6 hours or high for 4.

Of course make sure your chicken is cooked thoroughly before you dive in.  Rare chicken usually is not a good thing.

Be warned, it will smell really good and you will be tempted to start sampling when you stir.  Don’t. (see above warning)

When timer dings, pour into bowls, grab a handful of tortilla strips and scatter on top, then grab another hand of cheese and then layer that on.  If you are like Carolyn, you will want a couple  dalops of sour cream as well.

There you have it. Simple yet absolutely delicious.  Though I have been learning I don’t know much about nutrition (Carolyn recently informed me that pancakes were not a healthy food, who knew?), it is my understanding this actually is not horribly bad for you (though the cheese, chips and sour cream may have something to say about that).  For those that know better than me, let me know if I am right or not.  Well maybe not, sometimes it is better to live in ignorance.

That is the basic recipe as I make it, but feel free to experiment. Enjoy!

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Super easy Tortilla Soup

  1. smartass on said:

    This carolyn you speak of would be quite wrong!! Pancakes, in fact, can be quite healthy when made with the right ingredients!! So, don’t limit yourself to what this one person might say!!

Leave a Reply

