Running with Rage

Eric Rutin discusses running, life and other semi-important things

21 Best Movies of All Time

March 17, 2013

Hello.  My name is Eric Rutin.  You came to my blog.   Prepare to have your mind exploded.

I had previously posted the best songs to have on your running playlist and that seemed to create a stir.  The list was a pretty good objective account that oddly some didn’t agree with.  Kinda confused me as I have outstanding taste in music.

So here I go with another list.  Usually as you know I talk about running in some sort or another, but today I am going to share the 10 best movies of all time.  These are the flicks that you can watch again and again and rather than get bored, you pick up a new line or discover new plot or subtle twist.  A lot of the critics have movies like Citizen Kane and Gone With The Wind, but mine is less pretentious.  Those are movies critics think you should like and while they aren’t always horrible, I could not imagine watching them every time TBS runs them.  If you read this and don’t agree with at least 9 of them I have but one word to say to you.: Inconceivable!

Last-Of-The-Mohicans-still

21. (500) Days of Summer – You will notice a theme pretty quickly. I am not above the romcom.  I think the movie is clever and fun.  Joseph Gordon-Levitt was perfect as Tom and Zooey Deschanel is always great.  This may raise some eyebrows, but really, it is impossible not to get a warm feeling when introduced to Autumn?  It lets me know life will always work out if you let it.

20. Can’t By Me Love – Patrick Dempsy in his finest role.  I have to admit there were a couple of other classic 80’s movies that were battling for this spot, The Sure Thing, Better of Dead and Ferris Bueller’s Day Off, but this one inched in front of the others in a dead heat probably since it was filmed in Tucson.

19. Sixteen Candles – Staying in the 80’s I had to have John Hughes represented, but this was his best.  I was in high school when this came out and related more to the Geek than Jake Ryan.  I am sure Long Duk Dong is incredibly racist in today’s politically correct world, but he was hilarious.  Best line: No more yankie my wankie.  The Donger needs food.

18. Crossing Delancy – Probably the least known movie on the list, and yes, yet another romantic comedy, but this movie is touching and just makes me feel good.  If you haven’ seen it, plan date night and watch it.

17. The Good, the Bad and the Ugly – Classic Clint.  Do I need to say anything else?  Oh yea, great sound track.  Who doesn’t recognize that music?

TheBirdsRavens-73388816. The Birds – This is the scariest movie I have ever seen. Now I will confess and say I don’t watch slasher flicks or movies with creepy kids so my pool of scary is limited.  But this movie freaked me out and still does.  Where the special effects bad? Of course.  But the premise totally could happen.  I get a chill down my spine anytime I see a group of birds hanging out on a power line plotting.  I can also say that of the great directors, I really do think Alfred Hitchcock has done a lot of remarkable movies.

15.  The Graduate – A great great great movie that I am sure I don’t understand completely.  Plus I think coo coo ca-choo Mrs. Robinson may personally be responsible for sending me into puberty.  Best line: Mr Braddock: Ben, this whole idea sounds pretty half-baked.  Benjamin: Oh no it’s not. Its completely baked.

14. Last of the Mohicans – Daniel Day Lewis seems to have won an Academy Award for every other movie he has been in, but this is his best.  By far.  The movie is a thrill ride thanks to a great story and an even better soundtrack.  And if you haven’t figured out yet, I am a sucker for a love story and a little piece of my heart is ripped out every time I see the final battle between Uncas and Magua.

13. Caddyshack – The second most quotable movie on this list.  While some think it is just slapstick and silly, it is actual brilliant.  Especially when you know how much of it was ad lib, including basically all of Murry’s classic  Cinderella Story.   Was Rodney Dangerfield ever more funny?

12. 2001: A Space Odyssey – Hmm, back then 2001 people imagines technology continuing into space rather than the world wide web.  The movie is hypnotic and just as with the graduate, I am sure I only understand half the symbolism. A question that constantly nags me, is Hal evil or not?  A little trivia: it is Stanley Kubrick ‘s breathing in the suit scene. hal-9000-1920x1200

11. Groundhog Day – Yet more Bill Murry.  Equal parts cute and funny. There is no particular reason why I like this movie so much, but anytime it is on (oddly it plays a lot on February 2nd), I watch it and thoroughly enjoy it.

10. This is Spinal Tap – Oh wait, is this the second most quotable movie on this list?  I envision people in forgien lands watching the movie and just not realizing how deep the satire drips from this movie.  The songs are catchy despite the absolutely hilarious lyrics.  Which is the best song?  Big BottomStonehedgeLick My Love Pump?  Best Line (maybe the best line in all cinema): “These go to eleven”.

9. Jaws – Second scariest movie of all time.  As with The Birds, it is scary because it totally could happen. And sharks scare the crap out of me.  It was probably not a good idea for my parents to take me as a seven year old to see it.  Scared for life.

8. Monty Python and the Holy Grail – Not sure if this would have been a more appropriate movie for my parents to take me to in 1975, but probably would have scared me less.  As with Caddyshack this movie would be so easy to just pass off as a silly movie, but it is brilliant.  The jokes aren’t afraid to take anything on and this just might be the second most quotable movie on this list.  Best scene (and this was very hard to narrow down): King Arthur and the Black KnightTheBlackKnight

7. Grosse Pointe Blake – It is an 80’s high school reunion. It takes place in Detroit.  It is sardonic. John Cusack, one of the best actors of my generation had to be included somewhere on this list. Oh wait, he is in Sixteen Candles. But the biggest reason?  It has a great soundtrack.  Some may mock 80’s music, but not this ska inspired soundtrack with oodles of The Specials and The Clash.

6. To Kill a Mockingbird – This was one of the best books I read growing up and the movie is its match.  Georgy Peck is amazing and he is simply the man and father everyone wishes they should be.  The story is also incredibly bold and progressive for the time.  Atticus Finch is the man and father we all wish we could be.

5. Saving Private Ryan – The landing on the beaches of Normandy is so realistic that I found myself leaning to dodge bullets.  I felt the claustrophobia of attacking the beach under the spray of German machine gun fire.  The rest of the movie is a great story and the claustrophobia of war never lets up. Most war movies glorify it, and while Saving Private Ryan certainly shows the soldiers’ heroism, it does a greater job showing the senselessness of war.

4. The Matrix – The special effects of this movie are mind-blowing.  The movie is supposedly loaded with symbolism, but I don’t think that deeply.  I just enjoy the action and the special effects.  And well, Trinity is bad ass. Best scene: Neo and Trinity going to save Morpheus.

3. The Shawshank Redemption – This has to be on everyone’s top five list.  It might be a perfect movie. The cast is spectacular.  The story is a masterpiece.  The film is outstanding.  Try and find a flaw.

2. Love Actually – I HAVE to watch this every Christmas at least once and also sneak a couple more times in through the year.  It might not be fair because this isn’t really one movie but rather at least eight stories all intertwined.  I can not decide which story I like best and just when I decide I almost as quickly change my mind.  For now it is Jamie and Aurelia.

princess_bride1. The Princess Bride – THE most quotable movie on this list or any list.  There is not a line or word wasted in this movie.  It took me a while to see it as I mistakenly assumed it was a trite kid’s movie. But I am so glad I finally did.  It is a rare movie that just gets better and better with each viewing.  The story is simply about true love, a theme subtle as a club  over your head woven throughout.  And I if I could narrow it down to one best line, I would.  But there is great line after great line throughout.  Just go out and buy your own copy and watch it. And then watch it again.  Then again.  Two things to think about.  Kareem Abdul-Jabbar was offered the role of Fezzik and Whoopie Goldberg wanted the role of Buttercup.  How different would the movie had been with those castings?

Well there it is.  The top 21 movies of all time.  If you think this list is in any ways anything other than perfect, all I can say is inconceivable.  Or perhaps that doesn’t mean what I think it does?

Single Post Navigation

8 thoughts on “21 Best Movies of All Time

  1. Jim Adams on said:

    500 Days of Summer is the worst movie of all time. Except maybe for Identity Theft.

    How could you leave off Wizard of Oz? Good call on Shawshank and Mockingbird. Among the best movies ever. You need to watch some French films.

  2. Scott on said:

    Who wrote this blog? This is not the Eric Rutin I know. He would never leave The Outsiders off. I won’t even bother reading through.

  3. globetrottermama on said:

    The Last of the Mohicans. What a score, huh? What a beautiful movie! The scene when Daniel Day Lewis’ brother climbs up the mountain to get to the woman he loves…he fights for her…dies trying and she plummets to her death to be by his side. Tragic. Heartbreaking. Beautiful.

  4. Pingback: The history of concerts according to Eric Rutin | Running with Rage

Leave a Reply

