Running with Rage

Eric Rutin discusses running, life and other semi-important things

Today’s Boston Marathon

April 15, 2013

largeWell my blog post was supposed to be very different. Carolyn ran in today’s Boston Marathon. She had hurt her hamstring in February and been in PT 3x a week since. She had to scrap her training and was able to do a very minimal program that was void of any twenty milers. She ended up posting 4:04 running on one good leg. This post was supposed to be about the awe of her accomplishment.

But it sadly is not.

As most everyone knows by now there were two bombs planted near the finish line. Reports are still coming in but regardless of the final specific death and injury tolls, it is horrific that it happened at all. Carolyn had just finished a few minutes prior and was working her way through the masses to exit the runner’s area when the first explosion went off. She heard it and saw white smoke. Her initial thought was that white smoke was not too bad. Then the second explosion went off and she knew it was no good.

I had been watching on Boylston and had just walked down to Newbury Street when the first bomb exploded. A slew of people started running at me down Exeter screaming. My initial thought was a bleacher had collapsed. Then the second happened and I knew it was no good.

I immediately called my friend Jeff who had been watching online and asked what the hell was going on. He just knew it was no good.

Today was supposed to be a celebration and sadly it was a tragic day. Carolyn did amazing and I am so proud of her. We were close enough that it has been very unnerving but fortunately far enough that neither was in harm’s way.

24 hours earlier Carolyn and Anne were cheering me on while I ran the B.A.A. 5K in front of the Marathon Sports that was the site of the first explosion. A little too spooky. Had Carolyn walked once more on her gimpy hamstring who knows what the outcome would have been. Had I decided to take Boylston instead of cutting down to Newbury St. who knows…

My heart goes out to all the people affected by this completely senseless tragedy. A marathon is a celebration of all that a human can achieve. Sadly the 2013 Boston Marathon will always be remembered as a demonstration of how evil a human can be.

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “Today’s Boston Marathon

  1. So much to be thankful for today.

  2. Wow. It’s amazing to hear a first person account. Thank God that you were both kept safe.

  3. All my thoughts to you guys. Good race done by Carolyn, and so fortunate she made it through the finish line before it blows. Finished myself over an hour earlier and was back at my hotel then. Seriously, as you did as well, checked online and could not believed what I saw.

    Boston marathon is the greatest race I have ever done so far (and London last year was really cool!) – so should I remember some things from the race is for the overall public support, great weather and wonderful experience. It is crazy what happened, but should not put the humanity down as sport events are always far from all politics and other things. It is always such a bless to meet people there from all over the world, cultures and belief. Pretty cool. I am very proudly wearing my Boston marathon colours.

    Good you and your closest are safe. Continue your good work training!

  4. Pingback: Eric Rutin seen running? | Running with Rage

Leave a Reply

